South Africa women cricketers created history when they became the first Proteas team to qualify for the final of the ICC tournament in the T20 World Cup. However, their dream of lifting the trophy was shattered as Australia defeated them by 19 runs in the title showdown.

Australia won the sixth T20 World Cup title on Sunday. Electing to bat first, Australia posted a competitive score of 156/6 in 20 overs, and then restricted the rivals to 137/6 to secure the title at Newlands.

Beth Mooney scored an unbeaten 74 off 53 deliveries. Shabnim Ismail (2/26) and Marizanne Kapp (2/35) were the star performers with the ball for South Africa.

The hosts were never in the hunt as they lost wickets at regular intervals. Laura Wolvaardt (61) and Chloe Tryon (25) added 55 runs but failed to cross the finishing line.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *