Sourav Ganguly and MSK Prasad have unveiled their meticulously crafted 15-member squads for India's journey in the ODI World Cup 2023.

Cricket fans are buzzing with excitement as the ODI World Cup 2023 draws closer.
India will host the tournament from October 5 to November 19. The spotlight is on squad selections, a topic of intense discussion.

Ahead of the main event, India is gearing up for the Asia Cup. BCCI’s chief selector Ajit Agarkar earlier hinted at similar lineups for both tournaments.

Former BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and ex-chief selector MSK Prasad recently revealed their 15-player squads for India’s World Cup 2023 campaign on Star Sports. The teams feature veterans like Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah alongside promising talents such as Shubman Gill and KL Rahul.

However, a noticeable difference emerges in their choices. Ganguly includes pace all-rounder Shardul Thakur, while Prasad opts for spin all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin. Prasad’s squad offers flexibility between Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav, a choice Ganguly has already made by excluding the latter.

India’s anticipated World Cup lineup presents a blend of experience and youth. Players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and others are eager to represent the nation on the global stage and secure the ICC trophy.

The tournament kicks off with a gripping match between defending champions England and the previous edition’s runners-up, New Zealand. This encounter is set to establish the event’s tone. While favorites like England, Australia, and India are strong contenders, teams like Pakistan and New Zealand also possess the potential to upset calculations.

India’s campaign begins on October 8 against Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The clash against Pakistan on October 14 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad is one of the most anticipated moments of the tournament, sure to captivate a worldwide audience.

Sourav Ganguly’s 15-member squad:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk) Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur

MSK Prasad’s 15-member squad:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav/Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah