Team India beat Zimbabwe by 71 runs in match number 42 of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Team India beat Zimbabwe by 71 runs in match number 42 of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday, November 6. This was the last match in the Super 12 round. Following the win, the Men in Blue progressed to the semi-final by topping Group 2. They will take on England in the semis on November 10 at the Adelaide Oval.

India batted first after winning the toss at the MCG on Sunday against Zimbabwe. They put up an impressive batting effort to finish 186 for 5 in their 20 overs. The Indian bowlers also impressed as Zimbabwe were bundled out for 115 in 17.2 overs. Here are the player ratings for India vs Zimbabwe T20 World Cup 2022 match. 


Suryakumar Yadav (9.5/10): Was sensational once again with the bat. Played his trademark terrific strokes in his 25-ball 61*, striking six fours and four sixes. Ensured India finished with an impressive total after a few wickets fell quickly in the middle-overs.

KL Rahul (9/10): Scored his second successive half-century. Looked in great touch to get India off to a flying start. Scored an impressive 51 off 35 balls with three fours and as many sixes.

Ravichandran Ashwin (8/10): Excelled with the ball and was too good for the Zimbabwe batters, claiming 3/22. Got the wickets of Ryan Burl, Wellington Masakadza and Richard Ngarava.

Hardik Pandya (8/10): Scored a run-a-ball 18 with the willow. Excelled with the ball, claiming 2 for 16 in three overs. Got the big wickets of Craig Ervine and Sikandar Raza.

Mohammed Shami (7/10): Impressed again. Bowled two overs and claimed two wickets. Got the wickets of Sean Williams and Tony Munyonga.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (6.5/10): Got the early wicket of Wesley Madhevere. Bowled three overs for only 11 runs, including a maiden.

Arshdeep Singh (6/10): Did his job. Bowled two overs for 9. Got the wicket of Regis Chakabva.

Virat Kohli (5/10): Got a start and looked good for his 26. Did not carry on for a change.

Rohit Sharma (4/10): Failed with the bat again. Was dismissed for 15 off 13.

Rishabh Pant (2/10): Got a game, finally. Was dismissed for 3 to a brilliant catch.

Axar Patel (1/10): Had another poor game. Went for 40 in 3.2 overs. Took the last wicket to fall.


Ryan Burl (8/10): Took good catches to dismiss Rishabh Pant and Virat Kohli. Top-scored with the bat, contributing 35 off 22.

Sean Williams (7/10): Stood out with the ball, claiming 2 for 9 in two overs. Dismissed Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant.

Sikandar Raza (7/10): Was impressive again. Got the wicket of KL Rahul. Scored a defiant 34 off 24 with the bat in hand.

Craig Ervine (4/10): Was dismissed for 13 off 15. Gave a return catch to Hardik Pandya.

Tony Munyonga (3/10): Was trapped lbw by Mohammed Shami for 5.

Tendai Chatara (3/10): Went wicketless in his four overs, conceding 34 runs.

Richard Ngarava (3/10): Got the wicket of Hardik Pandya but went for 44 in his four overs. 

Wellington Masakadza (2/10): Bowled two overs for 12, did not pick up a wicket. 

Blessing Muzarabani (1.5/10): Dismissed Indian captain Rohit Sharma early. However, he was extremely expensive, conceding 50 runs in his four overs.

Wesley Madhevere (0/10): Was dismissed for a golden duck by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Regis Chakabva (0/10): Was bowled by Arshdeep Singh for a duck.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *