IPL 2023 player ratings
Noor Ahmad was exceptional with the ball. Dismissed both Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Monday, May 29. Batting first, Gujarat put up 214/4 on the board in their 20 overs. Chennai chased down a revised target of 171 in 15 overs to lift their fifth title and equal Mumbai Indians’ (MI) all-time record. Here are player battles for CSK vs GT IPL 2023 final.

Chennai Super Kings

Ruturaj Gaikwad (7/10): Played a fine hand of 26 in 16 balls to give CSK much-needed early momentum in the chase. Hit three fours and a six.

Devon Conway (9/10): Played terrific hand in CSK’s win. Struck four fours and two sixes in his 47 off 25 balls, striking the ball with great command.

Ajinkya Rahane (8/10): Played a scintillating cameo of 27 in 13 balls. Hit two fours and two sixes to ensure the run rate stayed in control.

Shivam Dube (7.5/10): Contributed an unbeaten 32 off 21. Struck Rashid Khan for consecutive sixes.

Ambati Rayudu (7/10): Signed off from IPL with a sizzling cameo of 19 in eight balls. Smacked one four and two sixes before being dismissed.

Ravindra Jadeja (9.5/10): Got the big wicket of Shubman Gill, having him stumped for 39. Proved slightly expensive in the end analysis though, conceding 1/38 in four overs. Hit the last two balls for six and four to pull off an incredible win for his team.

MS Dhoni (5/10): Pulled off a superb stumping to send back Shubman Gill. Took a skier to dismiss Wriddhiman Saha, but fell for a golden duck.

Deepak Chahar (4/10): Dropped Shubman Gill on 3. Later, dropped Wriddhiman Saha off his own bowling – a tougher chance. Was off radar with the ball conceding a number of boundaries. Got the wicket of Saha, but went for 38 runs in his four overs.

Matheesha Pathirana (6/10): Got two wickets but those came towards the end of the innings. Was expensive overall as he could not get his line and length right. Ended with figures of 2/44.

Tushar Deshpande (2/10): Was completely off the mark. Felt the pressure of the big day and sprayed the ball all over the park. Was taken apart as he went for 56 runs in his four overs and failed to claim a wicket.

Maheesh Theekshana (5.5/10): Did not claim a wicket. Ended with figures of 0/36 from his four overs.

Gujarat Titans

Wriddhiman Saha (8/10): Laid the foundation for a big total with an aggressive half-century. Smashed 54 off 39 with the aid of five fours and a six.

Shubman Gill (7/10): Was dropped early in his innings and while he could not go on to register a big score this time, contributed a handy 39 off 20. Hit seven fours and featured in an opening stand of 67 in seven overs.

Sai Sudharsan (9.5/10): Played a sensational innings in the final, clobbering 96 off 47 balls with the aid of eight fours and six sixes. Began cautiously but broke free in the second half of his innings and struck the ball with amazing power. Was looking set for a well-deserved hundred when he trapped lbw by Matheesha Pathirana.

Hardik Pandya (5/10): Contributed a handy 21 not out off 12, a cameo which featured two sixes.

Rashid Khan (2/10): Had a forgettable final. Proved very expensive, conceding 44 runs in three overs, without claiming a wicket.

Mohit Sharma (7/10): Claimed three wickets, dismissing Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni. Failed to finish off the job. Was hit for six and four off the last two balls as CSK clinched victory.

Noor Ahmad (9/10): Was exceptional with the ball. Dismissed both Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway. Ended with brilliant figures of 2/17.

Mohammed Shami (6.5/10): Bowled three overs for 29 runs. Failed to claim a wicket.

Joshua Little (4/10): Bowled two overs for 30 runs. Did not claim a wicket.