Cheteshwar Pujara set an example for the players going through a rough patch by returning to the national side.

In a rare move, four Indian players will face their own country in a warm-up match ahead of the crucial rescheduled 5th Test against England from 1st – 5th July.

Team India is all set to face Leicestershire on 23rd June for a four-day practice match.

However, four players from the Indian squad will play for Leicestershire to give practice to every member of the Indian team before the fifth Test against England.

Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, and Cheteshwar Pujara will play for the club. The decision was taken after approval from BCCI, ECB, and LCCC.

The club released a statement saying, “LCCC, BCCI, and the ECB have all agreed to allow the four players from the visiting camp to be part of the Running Foxes side, to allow all members of the travelling party to participate in the fixture (subject to fitness).”

Additionally, the match will be played with 13 players per side to balance the workload. The decision is in India’s favour as they can field their 16 players.

A lot has changed since the 4th Test of the series. Both teams will be hitting the grounds under new leadership and head coaches.

Rahul Dravid understands the importance of the warm-up as England are back to the winning ways, whereas India last played a Test match in March against Sri Lanka.

Indian squad 

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Srikar Bharat (wk).

Leave a comment

Cancel reply