India made a memorable return to international cricket after a gap of few months. The Men in Blue scored heavily in the first T20I against South Africa at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

South Africa won the toss and invited the Rishabh Pant-led team to bat first. Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad gave a solid start to India. While Ishan accumulated 76 off 48 balls, Gaikwad hit 23 off 15 balls.

Shreyas Iyer (36), Pant (29) and Hardik Pandya (31 not out) took India to 211/4 in 20 overs, their highest total against the Rainbow nation in the shortest format of the game.

For the Proteas, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell and Dwaine Pretorius dismissed one batter each, respectively.

India: Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (captain), Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply