ICC Trophy
ICC announces new format for the 2024 T20 World Cup

After the success of the recently concluded T20 World Cup in Australia, the ICC has shifted its focus to the next edition and has already begun preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup in West Indies and the USA.

The 2024 World Cup will be the competition’s ninth edition, and first time in history, the USA will host a World Cup. The ICC, on Monday, released a new format different from the 2021/2022 edition, which will get introduced in the 2024 tournament.

Firstly, for the first time, the tournament will feature 20 teams. According to ICC, these twenty teams will get placed into four groups of five.

The top two teams from these groups will move to the super eight-phase, where they will be split into two groups of four teams. Further, the top two teams will advance to the semifinals.

Who are the Twenty qualified teams?

West Indies and the USA gained direct qualification since they are the hosts and grabbed two spots.

Australia, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, and South Africa have also earned direct qualification due to a top-eight finish at the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have also qualified directly based on ICC T20I rankings.

The remaining eight spots will be decided after the regional qualification phase.

चयन समिति की बर्खास्तगी पर हुआ चौंकाने वाला खुलासा – VIDEO

Leave a comment

Cancel reply