Captain Rohit Sharma struck 46 not out off 20 balls to power India to a six-wicket win over Australia and level their Twenty20 series on Friday.

Sharma’s blitz led India to 92-4 after Australia scored 90-5.

The second T20 was reduced to eight overs a side after a wet outfield delayed the start for 2 1/2 hours. Bowlers were limited to two overs each.

Sharma struck four fours and another four sixes as India chased down Australia’s total with four balls to spare.

Chasing 91 off 48 balls in a power shootout, Sharma and Lokesh Rahul, who scored 10, put on 39 runs off 17 balls for the first wicket.

India collapsed to 55-3 in the space of 10 deliveries. Legspinner Adam Zampa struck a triple blow to send back Rahul, Virat Kohli (11) and Suryakumar Yadav (0) in quick succession and take 3-16.

Sharma was in ominous touch, though. He powered through with a 22-run partnership off 14 balls with Hardik Pandya (9) as India edged closer to the total.

“I was quite surprised as well, actually. I didn’t expect to hit it like that and I am glad it came off,” Sharma said.

Dinesh Karthik then smashed 10 runs off two balls and the series was level with one match left.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply