Whitewash on the cards - IND vs SL

The dominance of the Indian team on their tour of Sri Lanka can be measured by the fact that the hosts is yer to win a game in the series. After annihilating Sri Lanka in the Test series, Virat Kohli and his men continued their juggernaut in the ODI series by taking an unassailable lead of 4-0 with a game to go. With series done and dusted, pride is what Sri Lanka will look to play when they take on the ruthless Indian side on Sunday.

Its been an absolute humiliation for the hosts who have played like a bunch of joker's who are absolute newbie to cricket. Batsman have failed to make an impact while the bowlers have been taken to cleaners by the Indian top order putting their skills and temperament under scanner. Sri Lankan cricket needs change, whether its the change in the coach or the sacking of the players, the board has to take the initiative for the resurgence of Sri Lanka cricket. But that’s a topic that should be done after the series gets dusted for now their priority should be escaping a yet another whitewash. Their batting needs to come good in the 5th ODI to give them any chance to gain back the trust of their fans, who clearly are heartbroken after a series of successive defeats. For India the game will be a great opportunity for players like KL Rahul, Manish Pandey and Kuldeep Yadav to rest their case for a spot in the Indian lineup . Virat Kohli has already made the statement of giving their bench strength more opportunity for the last ODI and this could be Sri Lanka’s best chance to win a game against India but looking at the difference in the skill set of the two teams competing, a whitewash for Sri Lanka is certainly on the cards.

When: Sri Lanka vs India, 5th ODI - Sunday, 3rd September at 2:30 PM Local Time

Where: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasaprit Bumrah.

Probable XI: Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Milinda Siriwardana, Wanidu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Vishwa Fernando, Lasith Malinga (c)